top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMind Strong

No One is Coming to Save You!

Save Yourself


As my alarm is blasting in my ear at 5:00am. Yes, 5am... A time that I used to pop up out of bed and start my day with a dose of Crossfit and consistent accomplishment. I was an endorphin machine and there is nothing better than waking up to the smell of fresh ambition and grit. Bring on the effing day! I am built to crush it!


Well, here I am... hitting snooze at 5:00am and MAYBE getting my feet on the floor at 7am to walk and play with my pup and log on for work. "How did this happen?" or "What a hypocrite and waste I feel like." or "When you know better, you do better. I know better so why am I not doing better?'. Dammit, that is my daily self-talk. Fuuuuuuuck.


Life has gotten in the way. BIG TIME! I have an absolutely awful and stressful job. Let me rephrase that. It is more like tragic. Awful would be acceptable at this point. I am recovering from an injury. I am single... In fact my last bf was a raging narcissist. But let's not forget the "seperated" one. Oh and I am pretty sure my dog is tired of my antics... mainly the insomnia and weird sounds coming from my phone on social media. I follow a lot of dog accounts so the barking is driving him nuts at this point. But who am I to judge. I legit saved his life so he can do me a deserve! I took some time to rest and thought that would help. Nope. "SOS! SEND HELP!", Right? NOOOOOOOOO...WRONG!!!


Through my 20 year journey of having Multiple Sclerosis, a chronic disease that there is no cure for, I have learned first hand how precious our lives are. I have also learned that our bodies are resilient and adaptable. But we have to create the environment for them to recover and thrive in. So here we are... Rebuilding and recovering from a broken spirit... in a broken nation with a broken system during a healthcare crisis. What a time to be alive! But I am in charge of me and no is coming to save me sooooooooooo I am about to tell you how how I am planning to get back up to that warrior status. zlike a goddam phoenix I will amke it happen and if you are still reading you are coming with me. Giddy up!


So let's gooooooooooo...

First and absolutely the most important thing you have to know is that... >insert drum roll<, No one is coming to save you! Save yourself. I will say it louder, "NO ONE IS COMING! NO ONE, I REPEAT NO ONE IS COMING TO SAVE YOU! SAVE YOURSELF."


Yes, I know this is harsh but buckle up buttercup because I am here to tell you that YOU are responsible for YOURSELF. It is YOUR life... Not your boyfriend's, husbands, ex's, sister's, mother's nor father's life. It is not up to them to create your happiness. Create it yourself. Stop the blame game and putting your shit on other's. They may (or may not) support you, but it is not up to them to transform you. Enough. E N O U G H. Stop it and if you want to blame someone, blame yourself. Period.


Now that we have that out of the way and we understand that WE are accountable for ourselves, I got you! After you take responsibility, it is time to pick your damn head up, fix your crown and get to work... It aint easy but damn it is worth it. Transformation is my jam by the way! If there is anything that I have learned from 20 years with a chronic illness and going from barely walking to triathlete, it is how to change it all. And by all I mean change your mind. Because when we change our mind, we will change our life. So I am not only saying this because I started doing it, but because I have lived it more than once... more than twice or three times in fact (but who is counting).


So here we are. Let's start. I am glad you are pumped but settle down. We are starting small. It is not the grand change that is screaming out to you that will transform your life. It is great to have the LOUD cheerleader on the sideline routing for you, but it is the whisper inside of yourself that changes you. That whisper is what gets you to do one small thing everyday that moves you in the direction of your goal. Keep moving, listen to the whisper and drown out the noise. Now for real... let's gooooooooooooooo:


Our roadmap... Yes I am giving it to you. But they are just words you are reading. I want you to experience these steps. Feel them in your bones. Know consistency, feel failure but most importantly taste success! You do that with community so grap a group of friends and join me. We will feel all the things together. Or not... whatever is right for you. You drecide. But this ship is about to sail to hop on. Here we go...

  • I already ranted about this first step... yep, you guessed it. It is accountability! Stop making excuses and understand that YOU are accountable for yourself. Know that and we can move on and I will save you from another rant.

  • Know your why. Transformation is not easy. I repeat it is not easy. So think about why you want to change. Then use that why when you feel defeated or want to ignore the whisper. Don't ignore the whisper. NWEVER ignore the whisper.

  • Map a vision for yourself and create goals (Daily goals as well as BIG, scary ones too!). I believe visualization is a powerful tool. So when we vision map we can create images that help the universe align with us.

  • Surround yourself with people who believe in your dreams. If the top 3 people you speak with everyday are not adding fuel to your fire, think about those relationships. It might be time for some spring cleaning!

  • Create boundaries. Not everyone is going to understand your boundaries nor agree with them but they do have to respect them. Create them then stay strong! Hold the line.

  • Move your body and drink water! Endorphins matter. Get them going!

  • Create a spiritual practice. There are many ways to do this... find one.

I am ready. Are you? I have a Facebook group where I am structuring our transformation plan. It's 30 days and I am definitely not selling anything (hope and laughs). The only requirement is to commit and stay accountable.


Send me your name and e-mail and I will add you to this wild ride!


Let's goooooooooooooooooooooo!





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page